top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRodolfo De Curtis

Fifth Sensor

This week I worked on a very rough draft of the project report. Since Poposky could not procure more electrodes by this week, I had to order them. I got them on Wednesday evening and worked on the project for a few hours last night and a couple more this morning.


Last night I got the hand to work pretty well, but my arm muscles got cramped before I could get it con camera.


This morning I tried again and I had trouble with the thumb. I moved the sensor a bit and found that it was detecting my pulse.

I tried with different placements of the sensor on the flexor muscle on my forearm. The main problem with this is that the sensor picked up the signal of the nearby muscle of the middle finger. After some trial and error, I found a decent place for the sensor that could get me the results that I wanted most of the time.

As shown in the video above, some times I get all fingers to act independently, and other times I get the middle finger and thumb flexing simultaneously when either is activated.


If I can't get the hand to work with the program as it is, I will look into implementing an algorithm to isolate individual finger movements. Hopefully I can find an open source one.

bottom of page