top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRodolfo De Curtis

Assembling new arm & testing the circuit board with the first arm

Updated: Apr 10, 2020

I got the pieces for the new forearm from Poposky and glued them.

I drilled the holes for the servo housing to go on the main support and glued the main support to the forearm.

Due to the main support making minimal contact with the forearm, it kept separating.

I managed to get it glued for good (hopefully) using generous amounts of cyanoacrylate gel and letting it dry over night.

The next morning I drilled holes at the top to screw the ring connector.

I connected the servos to the circuit board and wrote a code to center the servos to 90 degrees. After that I placed the pulleys. I was going to tie the fishing lines to the pulleys when I realized the servo housing did not have the guide for the lines.

Since I could not print the guides, I decided to finish the test with the first hand. I added a switch to the circuit between the buck converter output and the Arduino's power input so the circuit can be used while connected both to the battery and a computer.

During this test I found that after making a fist and opening my hand, the sensor for the thumb would output a high value way after I relaxed the finger.




bottom of page